Mineola team named top delegation in Model UN contest


Mineola Middle School Model United Nations students competed at the Region 7 Center in Kilgore on Jan. 28 and 29. Mineola eighth-graders representing the nation of Poland were named the top Model U.N. delegation at the conclusion of the competition.

Beginning in September, the students began researching world issues related to a chosen country. As part of the competition, they submitted resolutions representative of their findings and offered solutions to problems. They also submitted maps and collages depicting their countries and the issues they confront.

During the two-day competition, students spoke on behalf of their committees and held a mock General Assembly, where they were awarded points based on speaking ability, and research and development of an issue. The following are the Model U.N. students who participated and any awards their countries received:

Sixth Grade
Nicaragua – Lily Windle, Amedea D’Angelo, Bailey Foster, Ryleigh Van Cleave.
Belarus – Calem Redding, Tania Villeda, Riley Jones, Emily Miller, Gracie Lindley.
Kenya – Christa Kratzmeyer, Cole Rhodes, Maddison McQuilliams, Addison Kennimer, Carmen Carrasco.
Madagascar – Nathalie Marquez, Meelah Amason, Gabriel Bardwell, Maisy Seaton, Sarah Smith.

Seventh Grade
Equatorial Guinea – Macy Fischer, Sarah Brust, Kennedi Elmore, Yuka Torres, Jordan Saxon, Chevelle Smith (Award: 3rd Place Maps).
Cambodia – Cody Brannan, Aiden Gould, Alex Reyes, Ella Layn, Zaid Palma–Valdez;
United States – Dalton Hamlin, Michael Lacy, Jace Tyndell, Ferni Ventura, Matthew Weedman, Buddy Ruffin (Award: Honorable Mention Security Council).

Eighth Grade
Netherlands – Aubree Bedford, Mira Stamper, Jacob Castleberry, Hunter VanDover, Jonathan Gallegos, Vanessa Veloz, Cason Davis (Awards: 1st place Security Council, 1st place Resolution Writing)
Romania – Owen Coutre, Jon Loredo, Cillian Russell, Maddie Tucker, Sydney Van Cleave, Riley Woodward (Awards: 1st place WHO committee, 2nd place FAO committee,  3rd place Resolution Writing, 3rd place Audio Visual, 2nd place General Assembly Overall Delegation).
Poland – Alex Barriga, Adam Blalock, Lauren Dickerson, Laurin Duncan, Mylee Fischer, Zoe Goodson, Allie Hooton (Awards: 2nd place WHO committee, 3rd place UNHCR committee, 3rd place UNEP committee, 3rd place Security Council, 2nd place Map, 2nd place Collage, 1st place General Assembly Overall Best Speaker, Grand Prize 1st place Best Delegation).